Welcome to Dance Place's

EMBARK GALA



Opening Remarks from Co-Hosts: Christopher K. Morgan and Gesel Mason

Performance by Artist in Residence Tariq Darrell O'Meally How are you? No really?

Choreography: Tariq Darrell O'Meally Performer: Kevin Carroll

Performance by slowdanger

8cell

Direction/ChoreographyText: slowdanger (anna thompson + taylor knight) Performer/Movement/Text: Julia Erickson Sound Design: slowdanger Audio Mastering: Luke Starcher Light Sculpture/Cinematography: ProjectileObjects Video Editing: ProjectileObjects + slowdanger Costuming: Mad Recital (custom skirt) (leotard from dancer's personal collection) Special thanks to Merging Media

Remarks from the Board

Friday: Co-Chair Rhea Norwood Saturday: Governance Committee Chair Daniel Woofter

Performance by Artist in Residence Britta Joy Peterson Excerpt from "External Organ"

Choreography: Britta Joy Peterson Performance and Choreographic Collaboration: Malik Burnett and Carolyn Hoehner Music: Derek Blackstone Costumes: Sydney Moore Lighting Consultation: Evan Anderson Co-Produced: Olivia Weber Research Contributions by Cast of External Organ: Emily Ames, Amanda Blythe, Malik Burnett, Carolyn Hoehner, Dylan Lambert, Annie Peterson, Vyette Tiya, Zoe Wampler; as well as Jamal Abrams, Lucillia Ayla, Sarah Brennecke, Kourtney Clements, Michela Dwyer, Krissy Harris, Tyreis Hunte, Gabriel Mata, Erika Martin, Robert Priorie, and Meera Safford

https://bit.ly/ExternalOrganBibliography

Remarks from Shannon Quinn, Education Director

Performance Order of Events (cont.)

Performance by the Dance Place Youth Performing Company Conceited

Choreographer: Daché Green Dancers/Performers: Amina Collins, Auset Collins, Nasiah Ingram, Cairo Waters Videographer: Shannon Braine Music Credits: Conceited by Rema Ma, Level Up (Intro) by Ciara, No Friends in the Industry by Drake, Have Mercy by Chloe Bailey

Remarks from Christopher K. Morgan

Performance by Gesel Mason Performance Projects with Women Dance Artists of Color - DMV

No Less Black

Artistic Director, Choreographer, Poem, and Narration: Gesel Mason Women Dance Artists of Color Organizers: MK Abadoo, Krystal Collins, & Jessica Denson Women Dance Artists of Color Performers: Pita Purpe, Jamison Cureio, Jos

Women Dance Artists of Color Performers: Rita Burns, Jamison Curcio, Jessica Denson, Shanice Mason, Michele (Micki) Prince, Taylor Taylor, & Shawna Williams

Closing Remarks from Christopher K. Morgan and Gesel Mason

Donate by texting EMBARK to 44-321

AND

Bid on gifts in our virtual silent action by <u>clicking here.</u>

Thank you to our EMBARK Gala & Season Sponsors!

Updated 11.11.21

Performance Sponsor \$2,500:

Chris Hornig & Nancy Garruba Daniel Woofter Irfana & Arif Noorani Janice Marks & Damien Agostinelli Jim Epstein Julia & Dan Johnson Louisa Buatti & Mark Miller Rhea Norwood

Visionary Sponsor \$1,000:

Carol & Willis Bradwell Christopher K. Morgan & Kyle Lang Denise Rollins Ms. Dorothy Dort Levy Jannes Waples Gibson Joseph Gangloff Kay Kendall *in honor of Christopher* Paul & Jill Levine Vincent Hurteau, Continental Properties Ltd

Supporter Sponsor \$500:

Carla Perlo & Richard Pilkington David Sparkman Kate Zyla & Brian Scott Katherine & Gerald Freshley Makila James Maura Keefe & Mark Witteveen Rebecca & Gary Stevens

Partner Sponsor \$250:

Barbara Rutland Erica Bondarev Rapach Jack Gerard Julia Brennan & Phil Kline Meg Revelle & David Chapin Robert Priore Wendy Shapiro







DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities The US Fine Arts Fund Doris Duke Charitable Foundation National Endowment for the Arts Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation The Arts Forward Fund, through the Greater Washington Community Foundation Share Fund Howard and Geraldine Polinger Family Foundation Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation New England Foundation for the Arts National Performance Network

Special thank you to our Board of Directors & Staff!

2021-2022 Board of Directors:

Janice Marks (she/her), Co-Chair Rhea C. Norwood (she/her), Co-Chair

Anitra Androh (she/her) Louisa Buatti (she/her) Makila James (she/her) Julia Johnson (she/her) Chris Hornig (he/him) Maura Keefe (she/her) Christopher K. Morgan, (he/him), Ex-Oficio Irfana Noorani (she/her) JR "Nexus" Russ (he/him) Amanda Sweet (she/her) Erin Skinner (she/her) Daniel Woofter (he/him), Governance Committee Chair

Staff:

Christopher K. Morgan (he/him), Executive Artistic Director

Amber Lucia Chabus (she/her) Sarah Chapin (she/her) Emily Crews (she/her) Jamison Curcio (she/her) Tiernan Damas (she/her) Ava Delasanta (she/her) Daché Green (he/him) Sarah Greenbaum (she/her) Rae Grey (she/her) Anastasia Johnson (she/her) Faryn Kelly (she/her) Sadie Leigh (she/her) Erin Lenahan (she/her) Ben Levine (he/they) Shannon Quinn (she/her) Elea Rodriguez (she/her) Duane Smith (he/him) Sylvia Soumah (she/her) dani tirrell (dani) Jon Townson (he/him) Delante White (he/him) Jay Williams (he/him)



SAVE THE DATE! FEBRUARY 3-5

THE CLARICE

AT THE CLARICE & DANCE PLACE

The Clarice's BlackLight Summit aims to activate the unimagined possibilities in dance- a convening that reinvisions dance as a conduit to galvanize resilience and inventiveness. The 2022 summit explores three fundamental inquiries: "What/Who are we Becoming," "How do we return to one another" and "Progress does not equal healing, but it can."

FEATURING DANCE ARTISTS:

UNIVERSITY OF

SUMMIT

BAYE & ASA • CHARLIE MAYBEE • ERICA SAUCEDO • GREG DAVID • KAYLA FARRISH

LEARN MORE & PRE-REGISTER AT

GO.UMD.EDU/BLACKLIGHTSUMMIT2022

